Saint Henry

Emperor Henry II.

The interpretation of historical personalities is always subject to a perspective that is close to the spirit of the times. In every century, historical facts are re-evaluated and re-connected with each other.

The life and work of Henry II (*973 - † 1024) is addressed and discussed in first-class specialist publications. Due to the complexity of the medieval sources, no additional interpretation will be provided here. Here are just a few key dates that outline the reign of Henry II.

Henry II was born into the Ottonian dynasty on 6 May 973. After his coronation as King of the East Franks in July 1002, Pope Benedict VIII anoints Henry II Holy Roman Emperor on 14 February 1014. Henry II Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation on 14 February 1014. Henry II's death on 13 July 1024 marked the end of the Ottonian period on the throne of the Holy Roman Empire.

The reign of Henry II is accompanied by various military conflicts. Henry II consolidates and stabilises his realm through closer ties to the Catholic Church and wages war against the Polish prince Boleslaw I Chrobry.

Henry II falls seriously ill while travelling to Magdeburg and dies in Grona near Göttingen in 1024; his grave is in Bamberg Cathedral. Henry II was canonised in 1146. The late Middle Ages emphasised his commitment to the spread and consolidation of Christianity in the context of his canonisation. Politically, Henry II endeavoured to "restore the Roman Empire" and founded the diocese of Bamberg in 1007. His commitment to the spread of Christianity and his closeness to the Roman Catholic Church were factors in the success of his reign. Henry II's empire encompassed significant parts of present-day Germany, France, Austria, the Netherlands and Belgium, Italy and parts of Croatia and can be understood as a European state, especially considering the very simple means of communication in the Middle Ages.

en_GBEnglish

Kaiser Heinrich II.

Die Interpretation historischer Persönlichkeiten ist stets einer dem Zeitgeist nahestehenden Sichtweise unterworfen. In jedem Jahrhundert werden historische Fakten neu bewertet und neu miteinander in Verbindung gesetzt.

Das Leben und Wirken Heinrich II. (*973 – † 1024) wird von erstklassigen Fachpublikationen aufgegriffen und diskutiert. Aufgrund der komplexen Quellenlage des Mittelalters soll an dieser Stelle keine zusätzliche Interpretation entstehen. Es seien nur wenige Eckdaten benannt, die das Wirken Heinrich II. umreißen.

Heinrich II. wurde am 6. Mai 973 im Geschlecht der Ottonen geboren. Nach der Krönung zum ostfränkischen König im Juli 1002, salbt Papst Benedikt VIII. Heinrich II. am 14. Februar 1014 zum Kaiser des Heiligen Römischen Reiches deutscher Nation. Mit dem Tod Heinrichs II. am 13. Juli 1024 endet die Ottonische Zeit auf dem Thron des Heiligen Römischen Reiches.

Die Regentschaftszeit von Heinrich II. wird von verschiedenen kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen begleitet. Heinrich II. festigt und stabilisiert sein Reich durch die engere Bindung an die katholische Kirche, führt Krieg gegen den polnischen Fürsten Boleslaw I. Chrobry.

Auf einer Reise nach Magdeburg erkrankt Heinrich II. schwer und stirbt 1024 in Grona bei Göttingen, sein Grab befindet sich im Dom von Bamberg. 1146 wird Heinrich II. heiliggesprochen. Das späte Mittelalter hob im Rahmen der Heiligsprechung dessen Einsatz für die Verbreitung und Festigung des Christentums hervor. Politisch strebte Heinrich II. die „Wiederherstellung des Römischen Reiches“ an, 1007 gründet er das Bistum Bamberg. Sein Einsatz für die Verbreitung des Christentums und seine Nähe zur römisch-katholischen Kirche sind als Erfolgsfaktoren seiner Regentschaft zu nennen. Das Reich Heinrich II. umfasste wesentliche Teile des heutigen Deutschlands, Frankreichs, Österreichs, der Niederlande und Belgiens, Italiens sowie Teile Kroatiens und kann – besonders unter der Beachtung der sehr einfachen Kommunikationsmöglichkeiten des Mittelalters – als europäischer Staat verstanden werden.