History of the Order

History of the Order

Founded by Elector Frederick Augustus II of Saxony (King Augustus III of Poland) (*1696 - †1763) on 7 October 1736, the Military Order of Saint Henry was a rather rare recognition of military valour until 1807. It was not until after the Napoleonic Wars that the order was re-founded and was given statutes by King Anton of Saxony on 23 December 1829.

In order to continue and preserve the tradition of the order founded in 1736 after the end of the monarchy in Saxony, almost 300 recipients of the Order of St. Henry and the St. Henry Medal who had been decorated in the First World War came together in Bamberg as early as 1959 to form the "Convention of the Royal Saxon Military Order of St. Henry" under the "Grand Master's dignity" of Margrave Friedrich Christian. In 1975 Margrave Maria Emanuel founded the "Verein der St. Heinrichs-Nadelträger" and in 1985 the association "St.-Heinrich-Orden e.V. Bamberg", which still exists today. With the founding of the association, the traditions of the convent of the Kgl. Military Order of St. Henry passed to the bearers of the St. Henry pin and thus also to the Order of St. Henry e.V.

Investiture

The circle of the Order of St Heinrich is limited to 30 knights and 6 commander knights. Admission to the Order is by decision of the Executive Board. The Order deliberately selects those personalities for admission by personal address who have proven themselves through their actions and their life's journey in accordance with the Order's motto and mission statement.

There is no right to admission to the Order.

St Heinrich's pin

The end of the Kingdom of Saxony in 1918 and the entry into force of the Weimar Constitution in 1919 marked the end of the history of the existing Military Order of St. Henry, which was no longer awarded from then on. It was followed by the "St. Heinrich Pin", which was established on 31 December 1963 on the occasion of Margrave Friedrich Christian's 70th birthday as the "Peace Class" of the Order. Following the long tradition of German ruling dynasties, the patron saint is Henry IV (Duke of Bavaria from 995 to 1004 and 1009 to 1017), who as Henry II was King of the East Franconian Empire from 1002 to 1024 and Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation from 1014 to 1024.
en_GBEnglish

Ordensgeschichte

Gestiftet durch Kurfürst Friedrich August II. von Sachsen (König August III. von Polen) (*1696 – †1763) am 7. Oktober 1736, war der Militär-Sankt-Heinrichs-Orden bis 1807 als Tapferkeitsauszeichnung eine eher selten verliehene Anerkennung militärischen Mutes. Erst nach den napoleonischen Kriegen erfuhr der Orden eine Neustiftung und erhielt am 23. Dezember 1829 durch König Anton von Sachsen auch Statuten.

Um die Tradition des 1736 gestifteten Ordens nach dem Ende der Monarchie in Sachsen fortzusetzten und zu bewahren, schlossen sich bereits 1959 in Bamberg fast 300 im ersten Weltkrieg ausgezeichnete Träger des St-Heinrich- Ordens und der St. Heinrich-Medaille zum „Konvent des Königlichen Sächsischen Militär St. Heinrich Ordens“ unter der „Großmeisterwürde“ des Markgrafen Friedrich Christian zusammen. Im Jahre 1975 gründete Markgraf Maria Emanuel den „Verein der St. Heinrichs-Nadelträger“ und im Jahre 1985 den bis heute bestehenden Verein „St.-Heinrich-Orden e.V. Bamberg“. Mit der Gründung des Vereins gingen die Traditionen des Konventes des Kgl. Sächs. Militär-St. Heinrichs-Ordens auf Träger der St. Heinrich-Nadel und somit auch auf den St. Heinrich Orden e.V. über.

Investitur

Der Kreis des St-Heinrich-Ordens ist auf 30 Ritter und 6 Komtur-Ritter begrenzt. Die Aufnahme in den Orden erfolgt nach Beschluss des Vorstandes. Der Orden wählt bewusst durch persönliche Ansprache jene Persönlichkeiten zur Aufnahme aus, die sich durch ihr Handeln und ihren Lebensweg dem Ordensleitsatz und dem Ordensleitbild gemäß bewährt haben.

Ein Anrecht auf Aufnahme in den Orden besteht nicht.

St.-Heinrichs-Nadel

Mit Ende des Königreiches Sachsen 1918 und dem Inkrafttreten der Weimarer Reichsverfassung im Jahr 1919 endet die Geschichte des bis dahin bestehenden Militär-St.-Heinrich-Ordens, der fortan nicht mehr verliehen wurde. Ihm folgte die am 31. Dezember 1963 anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags von Markgraf Friedrich Christian als „Friedensklasse“ des Ordens gestiftete „St.-Heinrich-Nadel“. Namenspatron ist – der langen Tradition deutscher Herrscherhäuser folgend – Heinrich IV. (von 995 bis 1004 und 1009 bis 1017 Herzog zu Bayern), der als Heinrich II. von 1002 bis 1024 König des Ostfränkischen Reiches und von 1014 bis 1024 Kaiser des Heiligen Römischen Reiches deutscher Nation war.